Scholarship Program

2020 Scholarship Winners


Glenn Balanza, Utqiaġvik Winner

Glenn is a Barrow High school graduate and attended Iḷisaġvik College this past year in Utqiaġvik. Glenn is pursuing a Computer Engineering degree and will be transferring to the University of Alaska Fairbanks this fall. Glenn is an excellent student with a vision for a better future for the communities he cares about. We appreciate his positive outlook on life and aspirations to change the world. Keep it up, Glenn!  


Juliana Osgood, Utqiaġvik Winner

Juliana, a recent Barrow High School graduate, will be interning for the North Slope Borough’s Administration and Finance Department this summer. In the fall, she will attend Norwich University, the oldest military school in the United States where she will study computer science and cyber-security. Upon her college graduation, Tracy plans to serve our country as a military officer. Way to go, Juliana!  


Tracy Burns, Village Winner (Kaktovik)

Tracy Burns grew up in Kaktovik and is currently studying Film Production at Valencia College in Florida. She plans to pursue a career educating the world on authentic Iñupiat culture. She wants to give pride to her people by showing a true depiction of her culture on screen. She said, “The Inuits have many stories and have such a rich culture that often gets wrongfully or stereotyped on screen. This is something I plan to change in my career as a filmmaker.” Good luck, Tracy!  

Scholarship Program

ASTAC awards four $2,000 scholarships to two senior high school students and two students currently enrolled in post-secondary education from our serving area. 

The 2020 application deadline has closed.

The scholarships are available to all high school seniors and students currently enrolled in post-secondary education living in the ASTAC serving area.

The applicant must have a C grade average or higher with plans to enter a vocational school, junior college or four-year university, or be currently enrolled in a post-secondary education institution. 

Submit your application by email to:, include Scholarship Program in the subject line.